#TwitteratiChallenge

I was included last weekend by someone who has quietly done plenty to keep the in her top 5 of ‘Go to’ Educators in the #TwitteratiChallenge.  @heatherleatt has been a stalwart of keeping teachers and schools well informed with changes to the Ofsted framework, alongside @Marymyatt.  Their amended versions of frameworks, their open and frank responses have, I suspect, halted move along the desire for greater transparency from Ofsted.  It was Heather who I turned to when I wanted to write my first blog… Myth busting Ofsted, which was a short clarification following my Stage 1 training, she encouraged me and checked it for accuracy. Shortly after, I went to Ofsted HQ and talked with @mcladingbowl about the future of Ofsted and the key issue of Ofsted myths, often peddled by inspectors at conferences and also at times prevalent amongst inspectors, not just SLT…

Started by Ross (never known to nap) @TeacherToolkit – “In the spirit of social-media-educator friendships, this summer it is time to recognise your most supportive colleagues in a simple blogpost shout-out. Whatever your reason, these 5 educators should be your 5 go-to people in times of challenge and critique, or for verification and support”

There are only 3 rules.

  1. You cannot knowingly include someone you work with in real life.
    2. You cannot list somebody that has already been named if you are already made aware of them being listed on#TwitteratiChallenge.
    3. You will need to copy and paste the title of this blogpost and (the rules and what to do) information into your own blog post.
    What to do?
    This what to do:
    1. Within 7 days of being nominated by somebody else, you need to identify colleagues that you rely regularly go-to for support and challenge. They have now been challenged and must act and must act as participants of the #TwitteratiChallenge.
    2. If you’ve been nominated, please write your own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost within 7 days. If you do not have your own blog, try @staffrm.
    5. The educator that is now (newly) nominated, has 7 days to compose their own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost and identify who their top 5 go-to educators are.

So, already rule number 1 poses a challenge as a number of people I would have listed have already appeared elsewhere! Superstylynne  who quietly dmed away as I stumbled through I my mothers last days in a hospice…lots of sleepless nights and days. Or @betsysalt who took pity on a bored colleague who didn’t want to talk Ofsted whilst training in Bristol.   @educationbear whose judgement is A1 and I turn to for insider knowledge whilst looking for Headships and general staffing issues! And for pithy responses or general mischief at inappropriate moments. @miconm is the first person I enquire from about school process, personnel and stuff I have no idea about, like the fact I have to continue paying for staff’so child are vouchers even when on maternity leave…

I’m still so spoilt for choice though, as there are so many great people on Twitter that I love to follow and chat to.  So here, in no particular order, are my nominations:

@chemistrypoet always comments on my blogs and manages somehow to find that tricky balance between support and challenge, asks the questions I need to hear, rather than just cheerleading. Always, always makes me stop and think. People who know me will recognise for a very valuable thing!

@chrischivers always a gentleman, supports, challenges and hugely knowledgable & always interesting to follow. Gently prods and nudges and tends to look at conversations from a different perspective, something I value hugely.

@farrowmr aka Mr Grumpy…Ric is sometimes provocative, but always applies an intellectual rigour to arguments and discussions that sometimes leave me behind! He’s fiercely passionate about children getting the best and sometimes frustration is evident…but that tends to be a trait of champions! Always available if I need a rant…although one of his responses got quarantined by LGFLMAIL for profanity! It was on that occasion highly warranted!

@mishwood1 wonderful lady…funny, committed (some might say In more than one way!) and doing an amazing job! Always, always supportive, lots of dm’s full of brilliant advice, support and general sunshine.  If I need to support a child with additional needs, she if a font of wisdom.

@JaPenn56 what she doesn’t know about governance is not worth knowing. Always ready and willing to offer advice, support and wit in equal measure she is right up at the top of my go to list! Seems to know when I need a prod & when i need a virtual hug.

There are many others, particularly those who work in the murky work of data but I’ll be good and stick at the nominated 5…

Leave a Reply

